GOOD Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

I have made these cookies 3 or 4 times now.  I think I’ve found what is for me homemade cookie perfection.

GOOD cookies

I call them my GOOD Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies because they are both yummy and just about as healthy as cookies can be.  They are filling and big without being “cakey”.  I hate cakey cookies!  To make them “good” I began with a basic low-fat oatmeal chocolate chip cookie recipe I found by Googling.  And then I used the best whole, natural, organic, and even local (in some cases) ingredients I could find.

So far, these have been fail-proof.  They are super easy, make a great snack, and by and large have been a hit!

Here is how I make them; reference the recipe I linked above if you just want the basics.

1 cup all-purpose flour (unbleached)

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda (we have aluminum-free)

1/2 tsp salt (I used Celtic sea salt –why not?)

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

2 tbsp butter, room temperature (we usually buy an unsalted, European style)

1/2 cup white sugar (we use organic cane sugar)

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 large egg (ours is from “the hippie store”, so we get local, healthier eggs)

1/4 cup plain, unsweetened apple sauce (today I bought organic also from the “hippie store”; Bee swears I got ripped off)

1/2 tsp vanilla extract (I’ll try making my own once this bottle is gone)

2 cups oats (recipe calls for quick-cooking.  I’ve always used just plain regular.  Nice and chewy this way, still without being cakey)

1 cup chocolate chips (semi-sweet, yo!)

Preheat oven to 350F.  We have a nice (and affordable) hotel pan baking sheet, which I line with a Silpat when I make these.  It’s like this, only not with pork.  Both are a great investment; not too expensive and the payoff is tremendous for baking!

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon.  In a large bowl, cream together the buter and the sugars.  (I use a hand mixer.)  Beat in the egg, followed by the applesauce and the vanilla extract.  (Still using hand mixer.)  Then working by hand (big spoon), stir in the flour mixture and the oats until just combined and no streaks of flour remain.  Stir in the chocolate chips.

Drop tablespoonfuls of the dough onto the prepared baking sheet.  (Recipe says to flatten a bit; I don’t –up to you.)  Bake for about 10-12 minutes.  Cookies will be light brown at the edges when done.  Let cool on sheet for 3 or 4 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack (another cheap, vital investment) to cool completely.

Store in an airtight container.  Makes about 2 dozen cookies.

-Me

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to GOOD Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Bee says:

    These cookies are GOOD.

  2. Sandie says:

    Meghan surprised us with a batch of these yummy cookies as a welcome when staying at their apartment over Memorial Day weekend. We loved them. Malee ate 4 of them and she put in her request for more!

  3. Teanna says:

    Oatmeal chocolate chip cookies are my favorite! Those look so good!

Leave a Reply

